Saturday, May 26, 2007

Miracle Fortress--Five Roses (2007)

Artist-Miracle Fortress
Album-Five Roses
Genre/Style-Indie Pop
Release date-May 21, 2007

Youtube- Live at Fringe Pop

Who is Miracle Fortress?
Miracle Fortress is the brainchild of Graham Van Pelt, a Montreal-based multi-instrumentalist and vocalist who in this incarnation builds wall of sound pop songs in the tradition of Brian Wilson and Brian Eno. Originally from Stratford, Ontario, Graham is also a member of Montreal’s Think About Life (Alien8 Recordings). He began to record as Miracle Fortress after co-founding the multi-functional art space/venue/studio space Friendship Cove with local artist Jack Dylan in Montreal’s Griffintown in late 2005. A 5 song EP, Watery Grave, led to a collaboration with Secret City Records in 2006 to record a full length LP. Graham spent a larger part of the year building into the Friendship Cove studio and recording the Miracle Fortress debut, taking time out to perform as a solo act opening for bands like Love is All, Vic Chestnut, and locals Sunset Rubdown and Islands. Five Roses was completed in January 2007 and is an ambitious and engaging record of pop songs that echo My Bloody Valentine and the Beach Boys alike. It will be released in May 2007. Sunset Rubdown’s Jordan Robson-Cramer (who also plays on the B-side to the first single), Telefauna’s Adam Waito, and SS Cardiacs' Jessie Stein have recently joined Graham in the live lineup of Miracle Fortress.

Reviews about this cd-stylusmagazine and prefixmag
Order this cd-buy it here
Right to sample-Download two tracks: This Thing About You and Have You Seen In Your Dreams here

No comments: